Zimbabwe

Sable Sands

Pictures here 🙂

When I was in Zim in January I wasn`t very lucky regarding the wildlife. And that wasn`t really the objective of the trip either, but it kind of sucks when you`re in the backyard of elephants, lions and hippos and don’t see anything. After the first five weeks I`d only seen one of the big five (the rhino`s in Matopos). So for the first weekend back in the bush I vent to visit Sable Sands, a safari lodge not far from Dopota. Meshack drove me to Mabale, and then Mr. Dube from Sable came and picked me up. Driving in to the concession we met two elephants, my second and third one 🙂

The lodge is run by a very sweet couple, Marleen and Brian. They took over the lodge a couple of years ago, after it had been abandoned for more than five years. They said it looked really horrible when they first came, time and weather along with baboons had done a number on the rooms and the main area. But with hard work and determination they made Sable Sands to the wonderful place it is today, it is absolutely amazing to be there!! 🙂  Marleen met me when we drove in, and we sat and talked a bit before I ate a quick lunch and got ready for a game drive. I was SUPER stocked to go on this drive, and we were going in to the national park itself and I`d only ever been on the concession of the other lodge I went to. It was me and a couple from Australia who went on the drive together, and with our guide we had a very good time! Before we could even get out of the concession we met several parades of elephants, and. Oh. My. WORD! What magnificent beautiful majestic creatures! It was such a powerful experience, they were so close to our car that I could almost feel their breath on my face. Of course I was a bit terrified also when they came close up, but our guide ensured us that it was perfectly safe. I`m sure they can read the elephants and know when to back off, but I still prefer my personal space elephant free 🙂

We made our way into the park and started the main part of the drive. I was crossing my fingers that I would see more of the big five on the drive, but we only saw more elephants and smaller animals. Not that I was disappointed, I was smiling from ear to ear the entire drive! And as long as I haven`t seen it all it just means I need to come back 🙂 We stopped at a viewing point for sundowners, and let me once again and not the for the last time just say: WOW! The sunset on the African sky is just something very extraordinary and the most stunning scenery ever. The park closes at 6 pm, and we overstayed a bit with the sundowners so we had to rush back to the gates to avoid getting a fine. Driving back it was FREEZING cold, so I was so happy to get by the campfire when we got back to Sable. Not long after a group of American women (middle age to retired women and one man, poor fella) came in, and we got to talking around the fire and we had dinner together as well. I had a long day, so I went to bed early in my amazing room. At Sable they have some rooms in the main camp area, and they have some down by the vlei (dried up riverbed), and this is where I was staying. At night you need somebody to take you to your room, you know, just in cases. Marleen and Brian had given me (in my opinion) the best room they could offer, with a direct view down to the waterhole which they very recently had lit up. So there I was, in my wildly comfy bed, looking and listening to the elephants drinking. Perfect ending to a fantastic day ❤

The next morning I slept in, and by slept in I mean 8 am. Huge difference from 6 am. I woke up to hear lions roar, what could possibly be better? I got up and went over to the main building and took in the view and quiet with a cup of tea. And also to warm up in the sun, man it`s freaking cold in Zim in May!!! Marleen and Brian came over and joined me together with their super sweet kids, Thandeka and Khaya. These kids are so lucky to have the bush as their playground and open and easygoing parents like Marleen and Brian. They were high and low, not scared of me at all even though they just met me, laughing and having so much fun! If I ever have kids I`m raising them the same way 🙂  I didn`t have any activities planned for the day, so I was just waiting for the sun to heat up a bit more, then I was just laying at the pool and reading. One thing I love about being out here and in Dopota is that you are never alone and almost always laughing. But it is also exhausting at times, so toget some time alone to you thoughts at a place like this was simply perfection. In the afternoon I met up with Chennai, one of Brian and Marleens best friends. We sat with the kids playing and talking until it was time for them to go to sleep. We sat by the campfire having a drink with Brian before we headed out to a braai with some of their friends. Love braais, some meat on the grill, a beer in your hand and good company around and it`s all you need 🙂  We went back home late, and I crashed in bed pretty tired and tipsy. The next morning I was supposed to be heading back to Dopota, but I was invited to stay another night, and I was very happy to do so! I spent a lot of time just hanging outside my room coz the view down to the waterhole was so good this day! A lot of sable antelopes were gathering around the water, and with zebras, baboons and impalas it was sooo awesome!

In the afternoon I went over to the campfire,  we were sitting here and having a few beers before dinner. After dinner there was a dance group performing, they usually do this when big groups (the americans) are leaving. It was so much fun with dance and laughter, we were loving it just as much as the kids! After dinner we went down to the campfire again and were sitting here and having fun until we couldn`t keep our eyes open any more.The next day I needed to go back to Dopota, so Mr. Dube drove me to Mabale at around noon and we met with Meshack so he could take me back to Dopota. It was Africa Day this Monday, so it was a public holiday. We had a very relaxing day in the shadow, just sitting around and talking 🙂

I had such a fantastic time at Sable, Marleen and Brian have a beautiful relaxed way of being that makes you feel like home. They are so humble, kind and generous to all their visitors, that you want to stay there forever and ever. Now, I`ve said a lot of good things about a lot of places I`ve stayed during my months on the road, but this. This is hands down the best one 🙂 As I`m typing this I`m wishing I could be back, having a beer by the fire. Until next time I`m just gonna enjoy the good memories 🙂

Next up (hopefully soon): Last part of Dopota!

 

Standard

En kommentar om “Sable Sands

Legg igjen en kommentar